Asia Regional Advisory Group


Asia Regional Advisory Group

As part of a broader effort to strengthen its engagement with the membership and to better inform its activities and policy advice, the IMF has formed informal regional Advisory Groups for Africa, the Americas, the Asia and Pacific region, Europe, and the Middle East. The groups have an independent, advisory function and bring different perspectives to the Fund’s work in the regions. The advisory groups comprise prominent experts from the private and public sectors, as well as academia and civil society.

The invited members of the Advisory Group for the Asia and Pacific Department of the IMF are:

Dr. Montek Singh Ahluwalia
Deputy Chairman
Planning Commission

Dr. Yi Gang
Deputy Governor
People’s Bank of China

Professor Yung Chul Park
Distinguished Professor
Korea University

Mr. Ted Evans
Director/Chairman of the Board
Westpac Banking Corporation

Mr. Heng Swee Keat
Managing Director
Monetary Authority of Singapore

Mr. Hiroshi Watanabe
President and CEO
Japan Bank for International Cooperation

Tan Sri Dato’ Dr. Zeti Akhtar Aziz
Bank Negara Malaysia

Hon. Tarisa Watanagase
Bank of Thailand

Dr. Muhammad Chatib Basri
Vice Chairman of National Economic Committee